When you are injured at work in Maryland, there are specific statutory deadlines that injured workers must comply with to get compensated for the work injury. There are statutory deadlines for providing your employer notice of injury and for filing a claim with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Notice of Injury to the Employer
When an employee is injured on the job, he/she must provide notice of injury to the employer. In Maryland, an injured worker must provide notice of injury to the employer within 10 days of the date of injury. Likewise, if the work injury resulted in an unfortunate death of the injured worker, notice must be given to the employer within 30 days of the date of the employee’s death.
When an employee is alleging an occupational disease injury, an employee must provide notice of injury within one year from the date the employee knew or had good reason to know of the occupational disease injury.
Failure to give notice within the time frames listed above will bar a claim for compensation. The Commission may grant excuse for sufficient grounds, but it is a difficult. Bottom line, if you are injured at work in Maryland, first thing you do is tell your employer about your injury, the body parts you injured, and how you were injured. Then, protect yourself. Call Mooney Law right away for a FREE CONSULTATION, so we can get your claim filed with the MD WCC properly.
Deadlines to file a Claim with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission
Notice and filing a claim are two separate requirements. In order to seek compensation for your Maryland work injury, you must file a claim with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission. Just like providing notice of injury to your employer, there are statutory deadlines with filing a claim as well. The rule in Maryland is an injured worker should file a claim with the MD WCC within 60 days of the date of injury. Failure to file the claim within 2 years is a statutory bar for any future claims regarding that specific injury. For an accidental injury, a claim must be filed for death benefits within 18 months of the date of death.
The statutory deadline for an occupational disease injury is two years. An injured worker must file a claim within 2 years from the date of disablement or from the date the injured worker has actual knowledge. A claim must be filed within 2 years of the date of death, from a death resulting from an occupational disease.
An east way to comply with the statutory filing deadlines is to call Mooney Law for a FREE consultation. We will meet with you, explain the process, and file the claim on your behalf. If you have been injure don the job in Maryland, trusts to proven and experienced attorneys at Mooney Law. Call today at 833-MOONEYLAW or 717-200-HELP or email us at email@example.com. For more information on Maryland Workers Comp, visit us on the web.
Tags: Maryland, Maryland Workers Compensation Commission